heart rate

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 bhaago

bhaago
  • 1 posts
  • Event: None Yet!

Posted 09 July 2014 - 03:23 AM

I am a 33 year old guy, and have just started running. I have led a very lethargic life style still now. So expectedly I get tired easily. However, what concerns me is the extremely high  level that my heart rate goes up to! Within 80-90 seconds of running at 5 Miles/hour, heart rate shoots up to 182-185! By 2 minutes mark, it touches 200, and I have to stop/slow down.

Same thing happenned last year, when I started training with a personal trainer. My trainer had to stop me (At that time, it had actually shot up to 215, as we were not measuring heart rate at start of running), and she suggested that I get a heart check up before any physical exercise. I did get a thourough check up and the doc did not find anything unusual.

Has anyone experienced such high heart rates as a beginner? Can I expect this to come down as I continue running?

#2 Kage

Kage
  • 18 posts
  • Event: 1500M/1600M

Posted 09 July 2014 - 01:12 PM

I went to the doctors today who said not to trust standard heart rate monitors.

On my mile run the other day, my heart apparently reached 206.

It would improve over time yes

-Push to maximize your potential-

#3 2Noob4U

2Noob4U
  • 4 posts
  • Team: Brookville
  • Event: Marathon

Posted 10 July 2014 - 01:09 AM

I'm 33 and started running again. My heart rate during races will almost always hit 200 BPM. I'm 5'10" 148 lbs and by all rights pretty healthy. There is a couple of formulas to calculate your Max HR. In my experience they are pretty inaccurate for me and patients. At best this is a guesstimate. Best way to know your Max HR is to have a VO2 Max test done on a treadmill. I think hospitals usually charge about $50 to do them.